Røyst Trio performs original music written and arranged by the members of the group. Each member has their very own sound that together creates a unique vocal texture and a varied collection of compositions. The groups’ music represents a contemporary and creative fusion of elements from world-music, modern jazz and folk music along with a strong portion of improvisation. Røyst has since their start up in 2002 produced tours and concerts of their own in Norway, England, Germany, Finland, USA, Canada, Mexico and Zimbabwe. In 2005 they released their debut album, ‘Nordic Initiative’, followed by their second album ‘Quiet Beauty’ in 2018. The title track from their second album was also released as an animation music video in collaboration with the renounced visual artist Simone Hooymans, and the video was selected for several international film festival awards and won the category Best Music Video at the Independent Talents International Film Festival in USA November 2018.

In combination with their international tour work, the group has continuously put great emphasis on running workshops both for amateur and professional performers as well as for teachers. In the workshops Røyst has, through means of explorative and interactive concepts, promoted the artistic and cultural value of a cappella music in addition to the spontaneous opportunity we as humans have to use our voice to create music together. In 2013 Røyst Trio qualified as finalists in the Tampere Vocal Ensemble Contest.

The trio has during the recent years toured with their concept Unconventional Tour in more rural parts of Norway with the intention to promote and bring vocal based music to communities that have less access to this art form and to inspire youth of all ages to engage in singing and vocal expression.

In 2005 Røyst composed and performed a commission for Nynorskfestspela, the annual festival celebrating one of the two written Norwegian languages, Nynorsk, at Ivar Aasen-tunet in Ørsta, Norway. The commission was made up by three compositions setting music to poems by Edvard Hoem and Ivar Aasen.